Phoenix – Erasing Karmic Debt and a New Life

In the beginning I avoided the extraordinary experiences because of a respected teacher had said:

“Many psychic-type experiences will happen as you do ‘The Work’. Pay no attention to this and continue to do your inner work.” 

 spoken by Pierre Elliot Headmaster

of the Fifth Basic Course at Claymont School for Continuous Education

in August of 1981.

I had started a house cleaning business incorporating my inner work or ‘The Work’ as within the tasks of cleaning. On July 3rd of 1984 I was cleaning a summer residence. J’s household was around in the early afternoon and then would leave with the children and Grandpa to Costco in Santa Rosa. They left me alone to clean the house. The weather was odd on that summer day in Northern California, overcast, hot and humid.

I was finishing up in the back utility room by putting away supplies when I heard a commotion on the deck between the house and the garage. It was a dust devil or whirlwind. It had picked up the plastic chairs and tables about 12 to 15 feet in the air whirling around. I peered out of the window watching it when it suddenly stopped and all the furniture clattered back to the deck. I straightened it. I was tired and dirty from cleaning and I had wanted to go home when I heard an odd sound originating at their built-in swimming pool.

The pool skimmer was caught up on the wave gutter of the pool. Wave gutters are normally for Olympic sized pools and one does not see them in backyard swimming pools very often. This pool skimmer was sputtering, a garden hose attached to its under belly.

I stood there examining the situation and finally said aloud to no one:

“I don’t feel like bending over and lifting it off.”

I felt an impression of a voice in my head say:

“You don’t have to do it that way.”

“Oh yeah,” I said feeling like an idiot for talking to myself, “What other way is there?”

No answer. A feeling or a sense swept over me.

I bent my knees slightly. I clenched my fists and bent my right elbow so that my right fist was near to my right shoulder. My left fist and left arm were extended by my left side. Using tension in both arms I reversed the positions and the skimmer moved off the lip of the wave gutter out towards the center of the pool.

“Nah,” I said aloud. The impression of the voice said: “Well, bring it back.”

I reversed my arms and it came back onto the wave gutter.

I freaked out. I ran to my car and ripped out of there thinking I was crazy.

In the summer of 1984 I experienced many odd things. I saw auras around people at times. While running, my spirit soared into the sky. I saw how light connected our hearts together and how that connected to the light of trees and plants and connected everyone with every being.

That period of wildness ended and in 1985 I landed a job at an alternative crisis residential treatment center. It was in this supportive environment that I began to trust my intuitive gifts.

In early February of 1990 just as I was about to fall asleep I asked:

God, what am I suppose to do with my life?

 At the time I did not know why I asked the question. In retrospect I can see that I was stable enough on the path of my inner work so I was ready to take the next step.

I thought that I might have a dream about my path. When I awoke I realized there had been no dream. I felt groggy and not ready to leave my bed.

A Being entered through my groin and curled up into a ball in my stomach. Then a full name came to me.  It was the name of a woman whom I had met about a month earlier that I had instantly disliked. She was a prominent woman in the community so I thought she would have an unlisted and/or unpublished telephone number.

I went to the phone book thinking I would be let off the hook and not be able to call her.  But I found her phone number. I dialed the number. She answered and I identified myself.

I know what I’m about to say sounds crazy, but…”  I relayed the experience that had just happened.

She said: “I’ve been curled up in the fetal position and I have been thinking about killing myself.”

At that point I made her promise that she would not harm herself in any way until we could meet two days later.

We met, she told me what had happened to her over the holidays. I had gathered the names of therapists and groups in town from my friends at work (the crisis resident treatment house) as resources for her. I spent four hours at her home.

At the end of my stay I handed her the resource list and she said: “The universe put you out there to hear my call.  That’s what I needed to start going again.”

We became friends and colleagues and she continues to serve people in her own healing practice to this day.

This was magical enough, but I found an even more remarkable connection. It was 17 years earlier in 1973 almost to the day that I emerged from a coma of three days after a suicide attempt. The early ‘70s from 1972 to 1974 were dark times for me where I had little insight into what had been happening.

I had come from a very dysfunctional family where I lived under the rage of a tyrannical father. I didn’t know how to express myself. I had been depressed for a long time without having realized it. I had a passive-aggressive style of expression and so on.

I was rageful and I directed the rage at myself. I was near death, my girlfriend had told me that my parents had called in a priest to do last rites.

The timing of the recovery of from the suicide attempt without brain damage and the answering of my question could have allowed me to erase the karmic death of disrespecting my own life. It gave me an opportunity to begin a new life, in short to surrender to a calling or a destiny of helping others through the way of the shaman.

It was a blessing – manna from Spirit as if I was privy to chapters of my own destiny unfolding into the miraculous.

In my own intuitive manner I searched out and found two teachers that helped me to the next steps along this path…

[NOTE: Most of this story also appears in The Calling. This version is more detailed and expository.]

Leave a Reply

