Alchemical Magic – Part One

Bridges to Kauai

na-pali-95

Its in the journey…

Many years ago – inspired by a graduate student in social geography I came up with the Quest-ions Project. The project was for travelers who had both imagination and an ability to write descriptively. I based the questions on their destinations asking them to answer a question on the top of an 8 1/2 by 11 inch sheet of paper after opening the business sized envelope at the proper time (there were instructions on when to open it).  Some of the questions were generic such as describe how a sunset makes you feel. However most of the questions were designed to the person’s relationship to place – mainly the destinations of their travels. The first person hitchhiked across the USA through the badlands. Another person was a waitress who reported that the questions supported her through her loneliness in relocating from Sonoma, CA to Spokane, WA and back again. A friend who went to Morocco and the Azores wrote fantastically descriptive prose that transported to a mystical forest there. The most interesting Questions project began with a friend and her Mother who took a cruise to Hawaii.

When she returned she dropped two of the three unopened Kauai questions on my kitchen table and said: “These questions are for you.” She explained that the cruise ship did not have docking privileges, so they anchored off shore. The plan had been to take skiffs ashore but the seas were too rough from a recent storm. The ship sat offshore for three days and they just looked at the island.

I had always wanted to go to Hawaii but put it off for years. So within three weeks I had plane reservations and a plan: backpacking – camping for four days, and staying at a motel and a Youth Hostel a day each and a Bed & Breakfast for a day. I was bumped into seat number three in first class on the way there.

I had to wait several hours for my backpack to catch-up with me at the airport before hitching into a motel for the first night. It was June of 1995. The air outside of baggage claim was hot, humid and immersed in the perfume of tropical flowers. The breezes off the ocean created a profound peace of being held by the goddess mother. So easy to smile, so sweet…

A woman who worked for one of the big hotels in Poipu with her husband picked me up. They had lived in a neighboring county – Marin before relocating to Kauai. I smiled and laughed. She asked me about my plan. I told her that I had planned to go to Polihale State Park. She advised against it, very hot there humid over 100 degrees. She advised going north to Hanalei. I thanked her as she dropped me off at Motor Court outside Lihue, which probably no longer exists.

The woman at the front desk checked me in. She looked at me as if I was insane when I answered her question about my rental car – “I don’t have one.”

That night I opened the first question:

Make contact with the Menehune and ask them for permission to contact the Lemurian world on Kauai.  I meditated for a while and decided to go to sleep. The day’s travel had been arduous.

I awoke to a raucous running and giggling in the room. I was about to turn on the light, when a strong impression of a voice came to me commanding me to stop and be still. The voice said:

You have it!

He meant permission to contact the Lemurians. In the morning the rocking chair was on its side where the Menehune had knocked it over the night before. I checked out the next morning and walked to the county seat where I bought a permit for camping at the Hanea Beach Park.

I hitched up the coast to the Youth Hostel in Kapaa for companionship and to gather supplies for my camping trip. We shared the cost for a veggie chili meal. I ate with the group played some fierce Ping-Pong and met a sweet young French woman.

I hitched north and had two good long rides. One was a guy with an open jeep. I was rained on – the downpour soaked me but it was refreshing. He was a pot smoker who had wanted to sell me some weed, but I didn’t smoke. The next ride was an Asian woman and her young teenage daughter who was in Catholic School and was busy playing and winning golf tournaments.  I later saw her on the TV show 60 minutes as a 17 year old golf pro. They took me as far as Princeville. I got another ride to Hanalei and walked to the campground.

The first day was great. Then local Hawaiians came in – enforce for a luau. It was nonstop noise 24 hours a day – I stuck it out for three days. I went snorkeling at Ke’e Beach. I mediated by waterfalls.

In a trance I was taken back in time to the early Lemurian times and saw a prince and princess blend their spirits in love. It was a blessing.

 The luau was loud and sleep at the campground was impossible. I left one day early hitched back and spent another night at the Kapaa Youth Hostel before getting a ride to the Bed & Breakfast in the jungles west of Kapaa.  It was a geodesic dome on top, a small building housing the rooms for the B&B with a lanai and two canvas yurts on wooden platforms 30 feet in diameter.

After a beautiful night under a canopy of stars and a sweet romantic kiss there was a sweet breakfast of strawberry papaya.

I received two homemade leis at the airport one from Angel manager of the B&B and now friend , one from the young French woman Lavigne.  Both leis were homemade by Lavigne. Taking the leis home was taking the slower life of Kauai back to California.

For more see part two:

https://psychesweather.wordpress.com/2016/12/07/alchemical-magic-part-two/

Leave a Reply

