Hope for Peace and Justice for All – the long haul

images

In 1982 I experienced a gradual awakening as if I was emerging out of a cloud. I realized that the world was “Upside-Down” meaning that peace and justice existed only for those with the money to pay for it and that war was good for business. Later as a result of my desire for truth and a spiritual reconnection with planet Earth I came to see that justice needed to include the planet as well as all the peoples of the planet.

I didn’t know my place in this life-long movement, only that I needed to be a part of this vision for a better world for all.

My quest lead me to California to study Vipassana Meditation with a 90 year Cambodian Buddhist Monk. I felt called to become a healer, but my rational reductionistic thinking got in the way at that time.

In 1985 I began work in a Crisis Residential Treatment Center for people without money (or with SSI disability) experiencing a mental illness difficulties.

In the course of my work there I uncovered the alternative healer in myself and surrendered to this avocation.

I have worked in alternative non-profit Mental Health in California for nearly twenty years as a part of team working to assist those in crisis to have more meaningful lives. Many of our clients would come back. Some have gone on to meaningful and productive lives, others have died some by their own hand and some by disease. People without hope, living on the streets respond to a home-like environment and the care given by the team to begin the process of respect each individual deserves.

Working both as a Crisis Residential Counselor and as an alternative healer there are many times that I don’t or haven’t know the results of my efforts (or the team’s) and I continue to work for this because its the right path.

I recently retired to continue to pursue an alternative healing practice full time

Leave a Reply

