Learning for The Sake of Learning

 

1bg

Neptune- dreams and visions made

A tribute to one of my earliest mentors and good friend John White.

When we entered his classroom he wrote “Learn for the sake of learning” on the blackboard and he fostered an insatiable quest for life-=long learning that is on going.

He was hired at Cheshire High School in 1965 and fired when I was a senior in 1969. He was my sophomore and junior English Teacher and he recommended me for an honors fiction class – Themes in Modern Fiction. He was fired when I was a senior. He counseled classmates who were taking acid trips and refused to turn them over to the principle. In turn the principle was planning to turn the names over to the police so arrests could be made.

After I graduated John and I became friends. He helped me through some very rough times in the early seventies.

John published an anthology called: The Highest State of Consciousness. We talked at length about consciousness and about using drugs like LSD for spiritual awakenings. We discussed meditation and altered states. He listened as I relayed two experiences I had had about feeling Earth as One and all beings as beings of light. John spent time in Palo Alto California helping Astronaut Edgar Mitchell organize the Institute for Noetic Sciences. When I was a senior in college representing the Psychology Honors Fraternity I put together a three-day symposium entitled Higher States of Consciousness. John was instrumental in connecting me with the key players like: Robert Ornstein, Charles Tart and other consciousness researchers for a three day symposium on Higher Consciousness hosted at Clark University where I was a student and faculty and students were invited from Holy Cross and Assumption College.

While in California he was an agent for a non-fiction book that never sold. He retired from being an agent just as I was about to put a new book out to market. He advised self-publication through Amazon or a similar venue.

for more on John W. White:

http://prabook.com/web/person-view.html?profileId=358582#

 

 

Leave a Reply

